Sign in to follow this  
Lobby

Pinto rough running

Hi all,

I hoping someone can help with the rough running of my Pinto.

It hasn't done much running since being rebuilt, it has a new distributor, leads and plugs. The carb has just been rebuilt as it wouldn't even tick over before, oh and it has a fast road cam.

I'm not very experienced with cars with points and how to set up timing and wondered if it could possibly be that causing the problem.

Basically, it struggles to rev, coughs, splutters and misses but will now just about tick over.

I've made a video to show some of the issues and would appreciate any help anyone can offer. I've been let down by a few people who have been working on the car so I'm keen to learn how sort this stuff out myself!

Thanks in advance.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q3Pedr4W3Gc

It's like it has a misfire judging by the way it's bouncing around?      Can you clarify the leads are fitted correctly?

• Like 1

As above.

I'd also be checking the gap between the cam and follower as too small a gap or no gap will give you a misfire like that.

• Like 1

As above:

1. Check plug leads are all correct

2. Check gap, dwell and timing on the distributor

3. Check all the pipes leading into the inlet manifold are sealed ok.

4. Check the cam is timed properly.

5. What cam - are the valve gaps right for that specific cam

6. Have you set the carb up after its rebuild? What carb?

7. Is the engine earth fitted ok.

8. Where are you? There might be a member nearby who would be willing to help

Edited by dgo

Watching the video again, personally I would start with ignition then the carb setup

11 hours ago, dgo said:

As above:

1. Check plug leads are all correct

2. Check gap, dwell and timing on the distributor

3. Check all the pipes leading into the inlet manifold are sealed ok.

4. Check the cam is timed properly.

5. What cam - are the valve gaps right for that specific cam